Falling into Routine

DSC_0487I realized a few days ago that, without realizing it, I have fallen into routine with Elizabeth. It’s usually, after she wakes: change diaper, tummy time/play, bottle, play, nap time, change diaper, play/read books, nap, change, bottle, play/cuddle with Mommy…you get the idea. I just didn’t realize until I just knew what she wanted that we have fallen into routine. It’s rather nice to know that I know what she needs and she is beginning to tell me what she needs/wants when she wants it because she knows I can take care of her. She fusses when she’s hungry and/or tired (though she’s learned to the little baby squeal and does so when she’s the slightest bit upset). She knows when she wants to go to bed at night or when she needs a nap and tells me so in her own way (when she’s not overstimulated and refusing to do so).

It’s nice. 🙂

She is growing constantly. She has pretty much tripled her birth weight (5 lbs, 15 oz. then; 15 lbs, 12 oz. now). And, today, she rolled over for the first time during tummy time, from her tummy to her back. I squealed and clapped and congratulated her, and I think she was confused. Plus, it was lunchtime so no encore for video. Still, yay!

Leave a comment